Just Finished Drafting the Final Chapter of the Book!

The only known photo of William Ellis Jones, II. If you know of another, please contact me!

The only known photo of William Ellis Jones, II. If you know of another, please contact me!

As some of you may have noticed, I have been very quiet. That’s because I have been very busy.

Tonight I finished the last sentence of the last chapter of “The Book”; the Biography and Civil war Diary of my g-g-g-grandfather, William Ellis Jones, II. The book is going to be called “The Spirits of Bad Men Made Perfect”, which is an homage to a line in William’s Civil War Diary, and (I think at least) a perfect metaphor for the mythology of the Lost Cause.

There is much more work to do. I have to complete the footnotes, finish two Appendices, write an Acknowledgements page, and go through the thing with a fine tooth comb for style, grammar, etc. – but it’s damn close.

Monday morning I begin searching in earnest for publishers.

I am so happy, and so proud of this accomplishment (I started working on this project in 2006), that I could just dance a jig and then spit!


7 responses to “Just Finished Drafting the Final Chapter of the Book!

  • Middlemay Farm

    Congratulations! There’s always a mix of relief, pride and sadness at the end of writing a book.

    • Grace

      Thanks Adrienne, No sadness in this one. And actually there is still plenty of work to do yet. But I am just THRILLED to at the point where it’s all tied together and the narrative is pretty much complete. Writing a non-fiction history is the most challenging thing I think I have ever done in my life. The facts and details, the backstory reading, the endless research… One book about one guy who was born in 1838 led me all the way back to 17th century Wales and the bards, to the earliest organized labor movement in the world – and it led me through the Civil War and Reconstruction…to New York of the early 20th century and into the depths of the Depression in that city… It’s amazing what goes into to forming one persons character (his ancestry) and then to realize how his life impacted his children and even subsequent generations. It was Big Work. And while I am very well versed in all these subjects now, I am really happy that my next work – FICTION – will not have to be so much damn trouble! :-)

      • Middlemay Farm

        Oh, I love that kind of work! After I finish writing my fiction series I want to revisit my mother’s family tree. The Fosters came to America in the 1630’s and we have a decent amount of their history preserved. We have the papers from when Ensign Henry Loop was captured by the Brits during the Revolution, diaries from a sawmill, and even stories about when poor Charles Foster was sent out to work for his family as a child and was beaten by his employer—and yes, the affect this had on the generations is amazing. I feel that I know myself better by knowing them.

        Best wishes and congrats again.

        Adrienne

  • tamarae9

    Congratulations!! I’m happy to hear this, though I just “met” you on coursera, I wish you luck on your journey.

  • Doug Bond

    Hearty congratulations from both a stranger. and a relation.
    I ‘m a direct descendent of Lewis Evan Jones, Sr., with most of the attendant genes in force and ran across your blog while scratching an itch re: the Jones line. I live in Raleigh and would love to swap stories.

You must be logged in to post a comment.

Emerging Civil War

Providing fresh perspectives on America's defining event

Kendall F. Person, thepublicblogger

where writing is a performance art and every post is a show

The Daily Dahlia

Not so daily, but definitely Dahlia.

Irish in the American Civil War

Exploring Irish involvement in the American Civil War

To Preserve Family and Farm

A True Story of a Family's Encounter with Sherman's Army

Adventures in North Carolina Culture

The official blog of the N.C. Department of Cultural Resources

Crutchfield's Orthoglossary

Notes & Comment on Language, Spoken & Written

stillness of heart

MUSINGS : CRITICISM : HISTORY : PASSION

Fredericksburg Remembered

Musings on history, public history, and historic Fredericksburg

Stumbling in the Shadows of Giants

For the sins of your fathers you, though guiltless, must suffer. - Odes of Horace

Cenantua's Blog

As a Southerner and native of the Shenandoah Valley, I offer reflections on the Civil War-era South... and sometimes a little more. But... expect the unexpected

Southern Unionists Chronicles

Reflections on the lives and experiences of Southern Unionists, during and after the American Civil War

Daily (w)rite

A Daily Ritual of Writing

Funny Sweet Chocolate: Essays by Mark Coakley

Funny rants on life in Hamilton, Ontario, Canada. Comic essays by true-crime author. A humour (Canadian spelling) / humor (wrong spelling) blog.

Eye-Dancers

A site devoted to the Young Adult sci-fi/fantasy novel The Eye-Dancers

Break Room Stories

Service Industry Stories and More Since 2012

Renaissance Richmond

Finding Architectural History and Following Historic Preservation in Richmond, Virginia

CardiffCataloguers

Cataloguing at Cardiff University

Alec Nevala-Lee

Thoughts on art, culture, and the writing life.

Virginia Historical Society's Blog

exhibitions, education, research, tours, bus trips, lectures, classes, collections, outreach, library, shop, and everything Virginia history!

chronicles of harriet

Steamfunk * YA Fiction * Sword & Soul

Raising Milk and Honey

The Farm at Middlemay

Mysteries and Conundrums

Exploring the Civil War-era landscape in the Fredericksburg & Spotsylvania region. Note: this blog is unoffical. All opinions expressed are those of the writers, and do not necessarily reflect the views of the NPS or its management.

Cultural Heritage & Information

Blog and Portfolio of Stacey Redick, Information Professional

jamesgray2

A discussion of interesting books from my current stock A WordPress.com site

Special Collections and Archives (SCOLAR) Casgliadau Arbennig ac Archifau

Showcasing Research Resources / Hyrwyddo Adnoddau Ymchwil

Vulpes Libris

A collective of bibliophiles talking about books. Book Fox (vulpes libris): small bibliovorous mammal of overactive imagination and uncommonly large bookshop expenses. Habitat: anywhere the rustle of pages can be heard.

Historic Collections at Senate House Library

Showcasing our rare books, manuscripts, archives, historic maps, artefacts and artworks

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 150 other followers

